Return to Clubs

Western Bulldogs

The Footscray Football Club, trading as the Western Bulldogs, is an Australian rules football club that plays in the Australian Football League (AFL). Founded in 1877, the club won nine premierships in the Victorian Football Association (VFA) before moving to the Victorian Football League (now renamed the AFL) in 1925.

The Western Bulldogs home guernsey features two thick horizontal hoopsβ€”one red and one whiteβ€”on a royal blue background. The club’s traditional rivals include St Kilda and geographical rivals Essendon.

The club has its headquarters and practices at the Whitten Oval in Footscray, an inner-western suburb of Melbourne, Australia. The club draws its supporter base from this traditionally working class area and plays its home matches at Docklands Stadium (currently known as Etihad Stadium) in the Melbourne Docklands area, also in the city’s inner-west. In October 1996, the club began to play under its current name of the “Western Bulldogs”, changing from its original name of the “Footscray Football Club”.

Western Bulldogs News

  • Ecstasy, agony in year of the Dogs DESOLATION for Bombers in January, euphoria in October for just about everyone, the 2016 AFL season ran the gamut of emotion. SAM EDMUND recaps the highs and lows of an incredible year.

Western Bulldogs FaceBook Posts

πŸ†™πŸ†™πŸ†™ ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Back to work πŸƒβ€β™€οΈπŸ‘Š

Pre-season 2018 is officially underway for our Western Bulldogs AFLW girls.
... See MoreSee Less

Our 2018 journey has begun πŸƒβ€β™€οΈ Check out the best bits from last night's session on the track πŸ‘‡

View on Facebook

Three new faces + the return of Roughy πŸ€—

Our four new leaders discuss their roles & what they'll bring to the team in 2018 πŸ‘‡
... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Permanent link to this article: